Academic Track Chairs for FOSS4G 2013

We would like to welcome Expression of Interest from interested candidates for two Academic Track Chair positions for FOSS4G 2013. The Academic Track Chairs will work for the successful organization of FOSS4G 2013  Academic Track and also help establish a framework for publications for the selected papers from future Academic Tracks in FOSS4G conferences  as aimed in the ICA-OSGeo MoU   

We invite  those who are interested and with strong research background in Open Source GIS to apply for this. Interested applicants should email   before 20 August 2012 with  their details  and brief statement about their publication ideas and strategies for the FOSS4G Academic Track. The selection panel  will consist of Helena Mitasova (North Carolina State University), Serena Coetzee (University of Pretoria), Barry Rowlingson (Lancaster University) and Rafael Moreno (University of Colorado Denver).

The selected academic track chairs should work closely with the FOSS4G Academic members and LOC to ensure time plan and all actions are on track. We look forward  for your strong support and participation for this.

“Open Nottingham” bursaries winners for OSGIS 2012

We are pleased to announce 5 “Open Nottingham” bursaries winners for OSGIS 2012. This will provide opportunity for excellent students to participate in OSGIS 2012 and cover thier full registration fees for both days of the conference..

Anzir Boodoo, University of Leeds
Craig A Robson, Newcastle University
Hao Jing , University of Nottingham
Eiman ElBanhawy, Northumbria University
Nart Tamash, Utrecht University

This is part of our strong commitment to actively support, widen and promote Open Nottingham initiative. In implementing the Open Nottingham programme, the University of Nottingham has strategically embraced an agenda of open access to teaching.  More details of Open Nottingham at